Step Out Of Your Comfort Zone. Now.

magic happens

I’ve been reflecting on fears lately. As I took the decision to change quite a few things in my life and stop listening to my inner critic voice. That voice who wants to keep me safe. Safe in my bird’s cage while the door is open.

Your comfort zone is that comfy place where you feel protected, where you know how things will turn out. You feel safe. But it’s also a place where you can feel stuck, where things are not moving forward and quite boring sometimes, right?

Stepping out of your comfort zone will create amazing things I believe. You will learn about yourself- no matter what the result is. I strongly believe there are no mistakes, nor failures in life, only new opportunities to do things better and learn along the way.

For me yoga is one of the places where I try that extra push. Staying longer in an asana, trying a headstand without the wall behind me, go to workshops with more advanced yogis. A few weeks ago, I attended a 108 Sun Salutations event at one of the yoga studio I go to. I had planned to go to a class a few days before I saw that this special class would take place instead of the normal one. My first reaction was “oh my…I’m not sure I can do this”. 108 Surya Namaskar sounds like a lot! Will I be able to do it? Will my body handle so many suns salutations in a row? I never did this before! I hesitated again even an hour before the class. “Oh but Maris, do you really want to do it, it’s your weekend, do something relaxing instead.” But then I realized that it was my inner mean voice talking, my ego, my fear. So I said no and decided to ignore her. I went. I shared my practice with a room full of other yoginis and I did it. It felt great. I let go of what was no longer serving me, the changing of seasons and transition to winter was the perfect time and opportunity to do so.

I’ve made a promise to myself to keep stepping out of my comfort zone, to gently push myself. As much as possible. It can be small things, as long as you start. Just keep stepping out and believe you can do it, trust yourself. The more you experience overcoming your fears, the more it’ll make you stronger and expand your circle of comfort zone. I can see that I’m keeping the spirit of trying new things and activities, things that intimidated me. Slowly I can see my confidence increasing and believe I can do anything. There’s a feeling of freedom that comes with it and it is priceless. You will never know what your are capable of doing if you don’t try. You might be surprised of how well it turns out!

What small steps can you take to get out of your comfort zone? What’s the worse that could happen if you decide to try that new sport, go on a solo trip, sign up for that theater courses? Where can you go the extra mile and gently push yourself?

Start today. It’s time to fly! 🙂

Happy day Sunshines!

xx

This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Step Out Of Your Comfort Zone. Now.

  1. Pingback: 5 ways to get out of your comfort zone… | Fit

Leave a Reply

